The Landscape vs. the Swampland

In the last two decades it has become apparent that string theory has a gigantic number of consistent solutions, the so-called string `landscape'. This has raised an interesting and important question: Can all consistent low energy effective field theories that include gravity actually arise in string theory or not? While this is a very difficult question to answer, it seems clear that not every consistent looking low energy effective theory can arise from string theory. This has led to the term `swampland' to describe low energy effective field theories, which look consistent but ultimately are not when coupled to gravity. The idea of sharpening the boundaries between the landscape and the swampland is a very active research area in which people try to find new classes of string compactifications and/or new constraints that need to be satisfied by low energy effective theories once they are coupled to gravity.

The topic of our program is the string landscape and the swampland and should be understood in a broad sense. Current interesting topics for our community that we plan to cover during the program and workshop are the following:

  • Refining the boundaries between the string landscape and the swampland, for example via the construction of explicit F-theory models and the identification of associated constraints on low-energy physics.
  • The weak gravity and distance conjectures and their implications for cosmology, general relativity and particle physics.
  • Non-supersymmetric AdS/CFT holography and connections between holography and the swampland conjectures.
  • How quantum gravity avoids the presence of generalized symmetries and cobordism classes.
  • Are de Sitter vacua in the swampland or landscape?
  • Emergence and the swampland.

From July 15th to 19th there will be an associated workshop with a higher density of talks.

Please contact, if you have any questions or would like to participate in the program.

Coming soon.

This event has no subevents associated to it.


Name Affiliation
Gary Shiu University of Wisconsin-Madison
Washington Taylor Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Irene Valenzuela CERN
Timm Wrase Lehigh University


Name Affiliation
Ana Achúcarro Leiden University
Lara Anderson Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
David Andriot LAPTh, Université Savoie Mont-Blanc
Fien Apers University of Oxford
Sukṛti Bansal Technical University of Vienna
Lakshya Bhardwaj University of Oxford
Ralph Blumenhagen Max Planck Institute for Physics
Jose Calderon-Infante CERN
Joseph Conlon University of Oxford
Sera Cremonini Lehigh University
Niccolò Cribiori Max Planck Institute for Physics
Mirjam Cvetic University of Pennsylvania
Arnav Das California Institute of Technology
Matilda Delgado Institute of Theoretical Physics UAM-CSIC
Markus Dierigl Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
Muldrow Etheredge University of Massachusetts Amherst
Mir Faruk McGill University
Anamaria Font Central University of Venezuela
Stefan Fredenhagen University of Vienna
Bjoern Friedrich Heidelberg University
Iñaki García Etxebarria Durham University
Yuta Hamada KEK Theory Center
Arthur Hebecker University of Heidelberg
Kim Hee-Cheol Pohang University of Science and Technology
Ben Heidenreich University of Massachusetts Amherst
Alvaro Herraez Max Planck Institute for Physics
Francis Atta Howard University of Abomey-Calavi
Patrick Jefferson Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Daniel Junghans Technical University of Vienna
Manki Kim MIT
Magdalena Larfors Uppsala University
Seung-Joo Lee Institute for Basic Science
Wolfgang Lerche CERN
Yixuan Li Max Planck Institute for Physics
Guglielmo Lockhart Universität Bonn
Matteo Lotito Seoul National University
Dieter Lüst Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
Andriana Makridou Institute of Theoretical Physics UAM-CSIC
Alessandro Manta University of Vienna
Fernando Marchesano Institute of Theoretical Physics UAM-CSIC
Luca Martucci University of Padova
Zheng Miao Lehigh University
Ruben Minasian IPhT Saclay
Alessandro Mininno University of Hamburg
Miguel Montero Instituto de Física Teórica UAM-CSIC
Jakob Moritz CERN
Georges Obied University of Oxford
Sonia Paban Harvard University
Susha Parameswaran University of Liverpool
Hector Parra de Freitas Harvard University
Stefan Prohazka University of Vienna
Muthusamy Rajaguru Lehigh University
Nicole Righi King's College London
Ignacio Ruiz Institute of Theoretical Physics UAM-CSIC
Marco Scalisi Max Planck Institute for Physics
Andreas Schachner Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich
Harald Skarke Technical University of Vienna
Pablo Soler Universidad de Oviedo
Radu Tatar University of Liverpool
Flavio Tonioni Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Ethan Torres CERN
Georgios Tringas LAPTh, Université Savoie Mont-Blanc
Andrew Turner University of Pennsylvania
Jan Pieter van der Schaar University of Amsterdam
Vincent Van Hemelryck Uppsala University
Thomas Van Riet KU Leuven
Max Wiesner Harvard University
Ivonne Zavala Swansea University
At a glance
Thematic Programme
July 1, 2024 — Aug. 9, 2024
ESI Boltzmann Lecture Hall
Gary Shiu (U of Wisconsin-Madison)
Washington Taylor (MIT, Cambridge)
Irene Valenzuela (CERN, Geneva)
Timm Wrase (Lehigh U, Bethlehem)