ESI Medal

The Medal of the Erwin Schrödinger Institute for Mathematics and Physics

The Medal of the Erwin Schrödinger International Institute for Mathematics and Physics, or ESI Medal, awarded in 2020 for the first time, has been created to recognize outstanding achievements in any area of mathematics or physics, including contributions at the interface of the two fields.

The ESI Medal is awarded annually and emphasis is generally given to recent achievements not older than ten years. There is no age limitation for the recipient and ordinarily the ESI Medal is awarded to one person.

The recipient of the ESI Medal receives a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of 4,000 Euro.

Nominations for the ESI Medal can be made by organizers of current and previous ESI Thematic Programmes, current and former ESI Senior Research Fellows, former members of the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) of the ESI, former recipients of the ESI Medal, former Directors of the ESI and the President of the ESI Association.