Mathematical Relativity: Past, Present, Future

Upon the occasion of the 100th birthday of Yvonne Choquet-Bruhat (29 December, 2023), whose 1952 paper on the Cauchy problem for the Einstein equations opened up the field of mathematical general relativity, this workshop brings together advanced doctoral students, promising young researchers, and leading experts in the field to discuss the spectacular recent developments in the area, to share and discuss techniques that have proven particularly successful, to assess new areas of contact, and to support existing and to promote new collaborations.

Confirmed speakers (more to come!):

Jean-Pierre Bourguignon (IHES)
Stefan Czimek (Leipzig U)
Mihalis Dafermos (Cambridge U)
Elena Giorgi (Columbia)
Melanie Graf (Tuebingen U)
Sven Hirsch (Duke U)
Gustav Holzegel (U Muenster)
Lan-Hsuan Huang (UConn)
Thomas Körber (U of Vienna)
Jose Maria Martin-Garcia (Wolfram Res.)
Lorenzo Mazzieri (U of Trento)
Hans Ringstroem (KTH Stockholm)
Anna Sakovich (U Uppsala)
Richard Schoen (UCal Irvine)
Jérémie Szeftel (Sorbonne U)
Zoe Wyatt (Cambridge U)

Coming soon.


Name Affiliation
Piotr T. Chruściel University of Vienna
Pedro del Real Lavergne University of Vienna
Michael Eichmair University of Vienna
Gerhard Huisken University of Tübingen
Jim Isenberg University of Oregon


Name Affiliation
Robert Beig University of Vienna
Charlie Beil University of Graz
Stefano Borghini Universität Trient
Jean-Pierre Bourguignon Institut des Hautes Etudes Scientifiques
Volker Branding University of Vienna
Annegret Burtscher Radboud University
Andreas Cap University of Vienna
Carla Cederbaum University of Tübingen
Albachiara Cogo University of Tübingen
Stefan Czimek University of Leipzig
Mattias Dahl KTH Stockholm
Erwann Delay Avignon University
Roland Donninger University of Vienna
David Fajman University of Vienna
Arthur Fischer University of California, Santa Cruz
Marco Galoppo University of Canterburry
Melanie Graf University of Hamburg
Sven Hirsch Institute for Advanced Study
Gustav Holzegel University of Münster
Lan-Hsuan Huang University of Conneticut
Thomas Körber University of Vienna
Klaus Kröncke KTH Stockholm
Michael Kunzinger University of Vienna
Maciej Maliborski University of Vienna
Lorenzo Mazzieri University of Trento
Marius A. Oancea University of Vienna
Francesca Oronzio La Sapienza University of Rome
István Rácz WIGNER RCP
Hans Ringström KTH Stockholm
P.K. Sahoo Birla Institute of Technology and Science
Anna Sakovich Uppsala University
Jan Sbierski University of Edinburgh
Roland Steinbauer University of Vienna
Rita Teixeira da Costa University of Cambridge
Liam Urban University of Vienna
Gilbert Weinstein Ariel University
Raphaela Wutte Free University of Brussels
Sumio Yamada Gakushuin University
Rudolf Zeidler University of Münster
At a glance
Dec. 4, 2023 — Dec. 7, 2023
ESI Boltzmann Lecture Hall
Piotr T. Chruściel (U of Vienna)
Pedro del Real Lavergne (U of Vienna)
Michael Eichmair (U of Vienna)
Gerhard Huisken (U Tübingen)
Jim Isenberg (U of Oregon, Eugene)