Non-regular Spacetime Geometry

Recently, regularity issues have increasingly come into the focus of researchers in Mathematical General Relativity and in Lorentzian geometry as they have turned out to be crucial in solving some of the most persistent open questions in the field. Traditionally most studies have assumed, explicitly or implicitly, smoothness of the metric. However, new insights are needed when the metric is not $C^2$ and, consequently, it appears reasonable to call such geometries non-regular spacetimes.

In Riemannian signature geometers have long studied non-regular manifolds using a variety of methods, such as comparison geometry, metric geometry and others. Many of these techniques have yet to be exported to the Lorentzian setting since, of course, a number of difficulties have to be addressed. At the moment the field is very dynamic as new methods and approaches are being developed and merged together with older techniques and accounts.

This workshop aims at gathering researchers at the forefront of the field to discuss and advance recent related results in areas such as causality theory, cone and Lorentz-Finsler structures, Alexandrov geometry, length spaces, metric geometry, ${C}^0$-extendibility of spacetimes, transport theory and curvature-dimension conditions, as well as non-commutative geometry.

Coming soon.


Name Affiliation
Piotr T. Chrusciel University of Vienna
Melanie Graf University of Tübingen
Michael Kunzinger University of Vienna
Ettore Minguzzi University of Florence
Roland Steinbauer University of Vienna


Name Affiliation
Brian Allen Lehman College
Tobias Beran University of Vienna
Fabio Cavalletti SISSA
Felix Finster Universität Regensburg
Leonardo García-Heveling Radboud University
Stacey Harris Saint Louis University
Eric Ling Rutgers University
Miguel Manzano Universidad de Salamanca
Pierre Martinetti Università di Genova
Lorenzo Mazzieri University of Trento
Tomasz Miller Copernicus Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Jagiellonian University (Krakow, Poland)
Andrea Mondino University of Oxford
Valter Moretti Universität Trient
Argam Ohanyan University of Vienna
Shin-ichi Ohta Osaka University
Jiri Podolsky University of Prague
Moritz Reintjes City University of Hong Kong
Felix Rott University of Vienna
Anna Sakovich Uppsala University
Clemens Sämann University of Oxford
Miguel Sanchez Universidad de Granada
Jan Sbierski University of Edinburgh
Didier Solis Gamboa Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán
Stefan Suhr Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Sumati Surya Raman Research Institute
At a glance
March 13, 2023 — March 24, 2023
ESI Boltzmann Lecture Hall
Piotr T. Chrusciel (U Vienna)
Melanie Graf (U Tübingen)
Michael Kunzinger (U Vienna)
Ettore Minguzzi (U Florence)
Roland Steinbauer (U Vienna)