The first three decades of the Erwin Schrödinger International Institute for Mathematics and Physics

Since its establishment in 1993, the Erwin Schrödinger International Institute for Mathematics and Physics (ESI) in Vienna has served as international research hub in mathematics and physics, hosting countless scientific programs on a broad range of topics. From the very beginning, the ESI has strived to promote innovative collaborative research, facilitate the free exchange of ideas and encourage interactions among scholars from diverse scientific backgrounds, geographical regions and career stages. This year, we celebrate the 30th anniversary of the ESI, and to mark this significant milestone, we are organising a two-day symposium that reflects the Institute's commitment to advancing excellence in research and stimulating discussion across all domains of mathematics and physics.

The symposium starts on Thursday, November 9 at 14:00 and ends on Friday, November 10 at 14:00.


Irene Fonseca (Carnegie Mellon University)
Isabelle Gallagher (ENS Paris) - Recipient of the ESI Medal 2023
Pierre Germain (Imperial College London)
Christopher Jarzynski (University of Maryland)
Gitta Kutyniok (LMU Munich)
Ulrike Lohmann (ETH Zurich)
Wolfgang L. Reiter (University of Vienna)
Anton Zeilinger (University of Vienna)


Coming soon.


Name Affiliation
Adrian Constantin University of Vienna
Christoph Dellago University of Vienna
Michael Eichmair University of Vienna
Stefan Fredenhagen University of Vienna
Ilaria Perugia University of Vienna
Bernadett Weinzierl University of Vienna


Name Affiliation
Radu Ioan Bot University of Vienna
Apostolos Damialis European Mathematical Society
Sandra Di Rocco KTH Stockholm
Heinz W. Engl University of Vienna
Irene Fonseca Carnegie Mellon University
Isabelle Gallagher École Normale Supérieure
Pierre Germain Imperial College London
Gerhard Huisken University of Tübingen
Gitta Kutyniok Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
Ulrike Lohmann ETH Zurich
Wolfgang Reiter University of Vienna
Klaus Schmidt University of Vienna
Sebastian Schütze University of Vienna
Joachim Schwermer University of Vienna
At a glance
Nov. 9, 2023 — Nov. 10, 2023
ESI Boltzmann Lecture Hall
Adrian Constantin (U of Vienna)
Christoph Dellago (U of Vienna)
Michael Eichmair (U of Vienna)
Stefan Fredenhagen (U of Vienna)
Ilaria Perugia (U of Vienna)
Bernadett Weinzierl (U of Vienna)