MAIA 2019: Multivariate Approximation and Interpolation with Applications

The conference covers classical topics in approximation theory, such as

   Multivariate approximation and interpolation,
   Spline theory, Radial basis functions, polynomial approximation,
   Wavelets theory and applications,
   Numerical Methods for approximation,

In the last decades approximation theory has evolved into several independent fields that no longer labeled approximation theory. However, the mathematical foundations and conceptual ideas of these fields are invariably based on approximation theory. The goal of this conference is to reconnect and harmonize the classical directions of approximation theory with some of its modern reincarnations, such as

   Learning theory,
   Compressed sensing,
   Computational harmonic analysis,
   Geometry processing, Subdivision schemes,
   Meshless approximation, Numerical Methods for PDEs,
   Sparse approximation,

The special feature of MAIA is the emphasis on conceptual unity and enriching, friendly and professional interactions.

Schedule (pdf), Abstracts (pdf)

Coming soon.


Name Affiliation
Maria Charina University of Vienna
Karlheinz Gröchenig University of Vienna
Philipp Grohs University of Vienna
Johannes Wallner Technical University of Graz


Name Affiliation
Amir Anat Tel Aviv University
Elena Berdysheva University of Giessen
Julius Berner University of Vienna
Peter Binev University of South Carolina
Helmut Bölcskei ETH Zürich
Leonard Bos University of Verona
Marcin Bownik Department of Mathematics Oregon
Jesús Carnicer Álvarez University of Zaragoza
Mark Jason Celiz University of Vienna
Constanza Conti University of Florence
Mariantonia Cotronei DIIES - Universitá Mediteranea di Reggio Calabria
Wolfgang Dahmen University of South Carolina
Oleg Davydov University of Giessen
Carl De Boor University of Wisconsin-Madison
Shai Dekel Tel Aviv University
Stefano De Marchi University of Padova
Benedikt Diederich University of Passau
Nira Dyn Tel Aviv University
Martin Ehler University of Vienna
Hans G. Feichtinger University of Vienna
Michael Floater University of Oslo
Hartmut Führ RWTH Aachen
Arash Ghaani Farashahi University of Leeds
Kurt Jetter University of Hohenheim
Bert Jüttler Johannes Kepler Universität
Andreas Klotz University of Vienna
Sarah Koppensteiner University of Vienna
Oleksandr Kozynenko University of Dnjpro
Angela Kunoth University of Cologne
Jeremy Levesley University of Leicester
David Levin Tel Aviv University
Tom Lyche University of Oslo
Lars-Benjamin Maier Technical University Darmstadt
Jean-Luis Merrien INSA of Rennes
Caroline Moosmüller University of California, San Diego
Bernard Mourrain INRIA, Institut national de recherche en informatique et en automatique
Olga Mula Hernandez Paris Dauphine University
Anthony Nouy Centrale Nantes
Peter Oswald Institute for Numerical Simulation
Nicolai Pastoors Technical University Dortmund
Juan Manuel Peña Ferrandez University of Zaragoza
Götz Pfander Katholische Universitä Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Gerlind Plonka University of Göttingen
Hartmut Prautzsch Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Vladimir Protasov University of A'quila
Mihai Putinar University of California, Santa Barbara
Christophe Rabut University Toulouse Capitole
Holger Rauhut RWTH Aachen
Ulrich Reif University of Darmstadt
Lucia Romani University of Bologna
Jose Luis Romero University of Vienna
Amos Ron University of Wisconsin-Madison
Maria Lucia Sampoli University of Siena
Tomas Sauer University of Passau
Reinhold Schneider Technical University Berlin
Larry Schumaker Vanderbilt University
Joachim Stöckler Technical University Darmstadt
Thomas Strohmer University of California, Davis
Alberto Viscardi University of Bologna
Felix Voigtländer Katholische Universitä Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Dingxuan Zhou City University of Hong Kong
At a glance
Aug. 26, 2019 — Aug. 30, 2019
ESI Boltzmann Lecture Hall
Maria Charina (U of Vienna)
Karlheinz Gröchenig (U of Vienna)
Philipp Grohs (U of Vienna)
Johannes Wallner (TU Graz)