STRONG-DM 2019, Searches, Theories, Results, Opportunities, and New Ideas for sub-GeV Dark Matter

New avenues are called for to solve the mystery of what is the dark matter in the Universe. The WIMP paradigm remains the best tested scenario of dark matter, but searches for new physics at the electroweak scale have come up empty-handed to-date. By 2019 the LHC will have comprehensively probed the TeV-scale, and ton-scale direct detection experiments will improve the to WIMP-nucleus scattering by an order of magnitude, probing deeply into the Higgs- mediated regime. It is essential for the field to diversify and be prepared in case of further null results.  

Dark matter in the keV-GeV mass range is an exciting theoretical possibility, and is one that has become the focus of activity only in the recent past. A number of proposals have been put forward for new methods to detect light dark matter (neutrino beams and underground accelerators, electron scattering, semi- and superconducting targets, Bremsstrahlung emission, defects in crystals, among many others), and new theoretical scenarios have been entertained for the dynamics in the early Universe and their non-gravitational interactions in astrophysical environments today (Forbidden DM, SIMP DM, Impeded DM, etc.).  

The workshop shall act as a forum for theorists and experimentalists to discuss searches, theories, results, opportunities, and, in general, new ideas for sub-GeV Dark Matter. It will hence be a meeting that focuses on models and regions in parameter space that are overlooked by the standard WIMP studies, and that may open a new window into the dark sector.

Workshop: STRONG-DM 2019, August 5 - 16, 2019
Schedule Week 1 (pdf) 

Conference: Light Dark World International Forum 2019, August 12 - 13, 2019

Schedule Week 2 (pdf)

For questions regarding the workshop please contact Josef Pradler, HEPHY,

Coming soon.


Name Affiliation
Brian Batell University of Pittsburgh
Nicolás Bernal University Antonio Narino
Xiaoyong Chu HEPHY Vienna
Hey-Sung Lee Korea Institute for Advanced Study
Josef Pradler University of Vienna
Tomer Volansky Tel Aviv University


Name Affiliation
Haipeng An Tsinghua University
Michel Bertemes HEPHY Vienna
Itai Bloch Tel Aviv University
Celine Boehm University of Sydney
Alexey Boyarsky Leiden University
Nassim Bozorgnia Durham University
Torsten Bringmann University of Oslo
Yanou Cui University of California, Riverside
Hooman Davoudiasl Brookhaven National Laboratory
Andrei Derevianko University of Nevada
Timon Emken Chalmers University of Technology
Rouven Essig Stony Brook University
Camilo Alfredo Garcia Cely DESY Hamburg
Sergei Gninenko CERN
Thomas Hambye Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Saniya Heeba RWTH Aachen
Gianluca Ingulia HEPHY Vienna
Felix Kahlhöfer RWTH Aachen
Pyungwon Ko Korea Institute for Advanced Study
Jui-Lin Kuo HEPHY Vienna
Ulf Leonhardt Weizmann Institute of Science
Zhiyuan Li Georg-August-Universität
Wolfgang Lucha Austrian Academy of Sciences Vienna
Ernest Ma University of California, Riverside
David McKeen Triumf
Gerhard Petrakovics Austrian Academy of Sciences Vienna
Martti Raidal CERN
Florian Reindl HEPHY and Technical University Vienna
Adam Ritz University of Victoria
Joshua Ruderman New York University
Thomas Schwetz-Mangold Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Neelima Sehgal Stony Brook University
Lukas Semmelrock HEPHY Vienna
Anastasia Sokolenko HEPHY Vienna
Tommi Tenkanen Johns Hopkins University
Laurent Vanderheyden Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Wei Xue CERN
Tien-Tien Yu University of Oregon
Yufeng Zhou Chinese Academy of Sciences
At a glance
Aug. 5, 2019 — Aug. 16, 2019
ESI Boltzmann Lecture Hall
Brian Batell (U Pittsburgh)
Nicolás Bernal (U Antonio Narino, Bogota)
Xiaoyong Chu (HEPHY Vienna)
Hey-Sung Lee (KIAS, Seoul)
Josef Pradler (U of Vienna)
Tomer Volansky (Tel Aviv U)